Genesis is the name of the first section of the Holy Taurat. The name “Genesis” means “origins” or “beginnings”. As a book of origins, Genesis records the creation of the world and all that is in it. In the first 11 chapters, it tells us of the beginnings of mankind, marriage, sin, civilization, business, agriculture, music, worship, languages, nations, and more. Chapters 12 through 50 record the lives of several ancient prophets and the beginning of the people of Israel. Genesis is the beginning of and foundation of Al-Kitab. In order to understand Al-Kitab properly, a person needs to have a good knowledge of Genesis.

Outline of Contents:

1. Creation of Heaven and Earth (chapters 1 and 2)
2. The Fall of Adam and Hawa (chapter 3)
3. The Story of Habil and Qabil (chapter 4)
4. Prophet Seth (pbuh) and his Descendants (chapter 5)
5. Prophet Nuh (pbuh) and the Great Flood (chapters 6 to 8)
6. The Sons of Prophet Nuh (pbuh) (chapter 9)
7. The Beginning of Nations and the Tower of Babylon (chapters 10 and 11)
8. Prophet Ibrahim (pbuh) (chapters 12 to 25:10)
9. Prophet Ishaq (pbuh) (chapters 25:11 to 26:35)
10. Prophet Yaqub (pbuh) (chapters 27 to 36)
11. Prophet Yusuf (pbuh) (chapters 37 to 50)

Go to Genesis chapter 1